California Mortgage Loan Limits by County (2024)

California loan limits

California Loan Limits

California Conventional Loan Limits

California conventional loan limits cap the size of mortgages so that they meet Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac guidelines. Those two government-sponsored entities (GSEs) buy mortgages and securitize them, which in turn keeps the home financing market liquid. Most loans made between lenders and borrowers are ultimately delivered to Fannie or Freddie. Thus, loans must meet Fannie and Freddie's guidelines.

Loan limits are set by the Federal Housing Finance Agency (FHFA), a division of HUD that regulates the GSEs. The FHFA monitors the House Price Index (HPI) in local real estate markets and revises the loan limits annually. Limits are set on a regional basis, by county within California. Conventional loans come in two flavors, conforming and non-conforming.

  • Conforming loans meet do not exceed conforming loan limits.
  • Non-conforming loans exceed FHFA’s conforming limits and are called jumbo loans.

For one-unit properties, the California conforming loan limits are:

  • $766,550 in most counties
  • $1,149,825 in high-cost counties

California VA Loan Limits

California VA loan limits are identical to conventional/conforming loan limits. Most lenders will not make VA loans in amounts that exceed conforming limits. For one-unit properties in California, the VA typically guarantees 25% of a loan amount up to:

  • $766,550 in most counties
  • $1,149,825 in high-cost counties

California FHA Loan Limits

FHA loan limits are set by Federal Housing Authority (FHA), another division of HUD. FHA loan limits are set on a county-by-county basis, based on median home prices in the area. To qualify for FHA mortgage insurance, loans must not exceed the cap. For one-unit properties, the FHA loan limits are:

  • $498,257 floor in low-cost areas,
  • 115% of median home prices in the county, or a maximum of
  • $1,149,825 ceiling in high-cost areas.

California Conforming Loan Limits by County

Below, you can find conforming, VA and FHA loan limits by county in California. The loan limit shown is for a single-family residence. Multi-family units (like duplexes) go higher.

CountyConventional limitFHA limit
Alameda County $1,149,825 $1,149,825
Alpine County $766,550 $503,700
Amador County $766,550 $498,257
Butte County $766,550 $498,257
Calaveras County $766,550 $498,257
Colusa County $766,550 $498,257
Contra Costa County $1,149,825 $1,149,825
Del Norte County $766,550 $498,257
El Dorado County $766,550 $763,600
Fresno County $766,550 $498,257
Glenn County $766,550 $498,257
Humboldt County $766,550 $498,257
Imperial County $766,550 $498,257
Inyo County $766,550 $508,300
Kern County $766,550 $498,257
Kings County $766,550 $498,257
Lake County $766,550 $498,257
Lassen County $766,550 $498,257
Los Angeles County $1,149,825 $1,149,825
Madera County $766,550 $498,257
Marin County $1,149,825 $1,149,825
Mariposa County $766,550 $498,257
Mendocino County $766,550 $546,250
Merced County $766,550 $498,257
Modoc County $766,550 $498,257
Mono County $766,550 $693,450
Monterey County $920,000 $920,000
Napa County $1,017,750 $1,017,750
Nevada County $766,550 $644,000
Orange County $1,149,825 $1,149,825
Placer County $766,550 $763,600
Plumas County $766,550 $498,257
Riverside County $766,550 $644,000
Sacramento County $766,550 $763,600
San Benito County $1,149,825 $1,149,825
San Bernardino County $766,550 $644,000
San Diego County $1,006,250 $1,006,250
San Francisco County $1,149,825 $1,149,825
San Joaquin County $766,550 $656,650
San Luis Obispo County $929,200 $929,200
San Mateo County $1,149,825 $1,149,825
Santa Barbara County $838,350 $838,350
Santa Clara County $1,149,825 $1,149,825
Santa Cruz County $1,149,825 $1,149,825
Shasta County $766,550 $498,257
Sierra County $766,550 $498,257
Siskiyou County $766,550 $498,257
Solano County $766,550 $685,400
Sonoma County $877,450 $877,450
Stanislaus County $766,550 $517,500
Sutter County $766,550 $498,257
Tehama County $766,550 $498,257
Trinity County $766,550 $498,257
Tulare County $766,550 $498,257
Tuolumne County $766,550 $498,257
Ventura County $954,500 $954,500
Yolo County $766,550 $763,600
Yuba County $766,550 $498,257

Contra Costa County includes cities of Concord, Richmond, Antioch, San Ramon, Walnut Creek and Danville.

Alameda County includes cities of Oakland, Berkeley, Livermore, Fremont and Pleasanton.

Fresno County includes cities of Fresno and Clovis.

Kern County includes city of Bakersfield.

Los Angeles County includes cities of Los Angeles, Beverly Hills, Long Beach, Glendale, Santa Clarita, Lancaster, Palmdale, Pomona, Torrance, Pasadena, El Monte, Downey, Inglewood, West Covina, Norwalk, Burbank, Santa Monica and Malibu.

Orange County includes cities of Anaheim, Santa Ana, Irvine, Laguna Beach, Huntington Beach, Garden Grove, Orange, Fullerton, Costa Mesa, Mission Viejo, Westminster, Newport Beach, Buena Park, Lake Forest and Tustin.

Riverside County includes cities of Riverside, Moreno Valley, Corona, Murrieta, Temecula, Jurupa Valley, Palm Springs and Palm Desert.

Sacramento County includes cities of Sacramento, Elk Grove, Citrus Heights, Folsom, Rancho Cordova and Carmichael.

San Bernardino County includes cities of San Bernardino, Fontana, Rancho Cucamonga, Ontario, Victorville, Rialto and Chino.

San Diego County includes cities of San Diego, La Jolla, Chula Vista, Oceanside, Escondido and Carlsbad.

San Francisco County includes the city of San Francisco.

San Joaquin County includes cities of Stockton, Tracy, Manteca and Lodi.

San Mateo County includes cities of San Mateo, Daly City and Redwood City.

Santa Clara County includes cities of San Jose, Sunnyvale, Santa Clara, Mountain View, Milpitas, Palo Alto and Cupertino.

Sonoma County includes city of Santa Rosa.

Stanislaus County includes cities of Modesto, Turlock and Ceres.

Ventura County includes cities of Oxnard, Thousand Oaks, Simi Valley and Ventura.

Post a Comment